Computer Science
The University of Alabama
Cyber Hall, Room 3057
Box 870290
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487
Phone: (205) 348-4740
Fax: (205) 348-6959
E-Mail: atkison at cs dot ua dot edu


Director, DCSL (Digital Forensics and Control Systems Security Lab) (2009 - present)

Director, Cyber Security Program (2020 - present)

Member of Alabama Cyber Institute (2015 - present)

Member of Center for Transportation Operations, Planning and Safety (2020 - present)

Member of Alabama Transportation Institute (2017 - present)

CISSP (44455), member since February 2003.


Verse of the Day:

Courses Taught:

University of Alabama
Introduction to Cyber Security
SCADA Systems Security
Software Engineering
Information Retrieval
Software Reverse Engineering
Digital Forensics
Software Security
Introduction to Machine Learning
Capstone Computing

Louisiana Tech University
Digital Forensics and Cyber Crime
Access Control Logic and Covert Channels
Wireless and Mobile Security
Computer Networks
Advanced Computer Networks
Data Mining and Machine Learning in Cyber Security
Data Structures
Systems Programming

Introduction to Cyber Security
Introduction to Digital Forensics
Introduction to Computer Networks

Mississippi State University
Data Structures and Analysis of Algorithms
Computer Programming with C


Current Students
Ahmed Bakr
Mahmoud Srewa
Ridwan Bello
Abul Kalam Azad
Abdulaziz Almousa
Kelvin Ovabor
Lacey Wicks
Ella Dierlam
Evan Hardt
Alex Gundrum
Hariaksha Gunda
Aislinn Hamill
Liam Tucker
Lucas Underbakke
Anderson Liddle
Sinan Al Ani
Harry May

Former Students
Rubana Hossain Munia
Hana Park
Nick Callahan
Andrew Renninger
Reaghan Dougherty
Sarah Scott
Ashton Johnson
Stephen Kirby
Jonah Sussman
Ashley Phan
Savannah Grasmick
Nicholas Muscolino
Chen Wang
Cole Robbins
Inyene Akpan
Chandler Staggs
Nel Vora
Russel Weas
Stephen Sottosanti
Laura Malis
Myles McLeroy
Abigail Payne
Michael Lee
Shariful Haque
Blake Wright
Ben Hallihan
Jake Wachs
Leete Skinner
Mahran Al-Zyoud
Vaughn Poe
Miclain Keffeler
Tzofi Klinghoffer
Sung Kim
Matthew Leeds
Kyle Galloway
Luke Hebert
Meghan Ford
Sean Semple
Stanislav Ponomarev
Nathan Wallace
James Poore
Christian Dean
Jordan Lafont
Rodney Chism
Robert Plummer
Jan Durand
Juan Flores
Joshua Hammons

Dr. Travis Atkison

Associate Professor

Computer Science

Cyber Security Program Director

Research Interests

  • Cyber Security
  • Cyber Security Education
  • Computer Security
  • Digital Forensics
  • Control System Security
  • Transportation Infrastructure
  • Software Assurance
  • Software Engineering
  • Network Security
  • Threat Avoidance
  • Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining
  • Information Retrieval

Research Opportunities

Academic Degrees


  • The University of Alabama Faculty Excellence Award for Outstanding Impact, 2024
  • Recipient of the James Worth Bagley PhD Fellowship
  • Recipient of the Joseph Barrier Graduate Fellowship
  • Phi Kappa Phi, National Honor Society
  • Upsilon Pi Epsilon, National Honor Society
    • President, 2008 - 2009
  • University of Alabama's Engineering Science and Mechanics Role of Honor

Research Projects | Resume/CV | List of Publications